lohashoes.blogg.se

Mac pro 4 1 cpu upgrade
Mac pro 4 1 cpu upgrade













mac pro 4 1 cpu upgrade mac pro 4 1 cpu upgrade
  1. #Mac pro 4 1 cpu upgrade upgrade#
  2. #Mac pro 4 1 cpu upgrade full#

Watch the youtube video of this guy and you will get there. Be patient, it really works! I left out the obvious like tools, thermal paste and cleaning and prep. The trick is not to panic when things go wrong. I paid $370 for the Processors and now my Geek Bench is slightly over 26,000 - that's pretty much double my 2.26GHz 8-core.

#Mac pro 4 1 cpu upgrade upgrade#

Follow this guy's (youtube video) tips: "Mac Pro 2009 CPU upgrade 8 core Nehalem to 12 core Westmere". If your heatsink fan connectors don't seat far enough down you will never post. I used a small mirror to look into the heatsinks and made sure the fans were spinning. So I took out the second nylon washer on each screw and made slight equal tight and loosen adjustments and after several attempts it finally posted as a 12 core Mac with 24 gigs RAM. After many more adjustments of B CPU heatsink it still would not POST. I then made very slight adjustments to CPU heatsink A and the lights went out but when I checked my "about this Mac" it saw only the A CPU. The fan speed was normal but I had red lights on the CPU board.

#Mac pro 4 1 cpu upgrade full#

The fans on CPU A were at full speed and no matter what adjustments I made they stayed at full speed until I put in CPU B. I replaced the second washers with one's half as thick and now it posted with the 3 sticks of ram. I had a problem POSTing ( Power On Self Test), so when I looked closely at the processor under the heatsink I noticed it wasn't down cleanly on the socket. I put in (2) 1mm nylon washers on each heatsink screw and slowly tightened them down first on processor A only. ( Ref: Intel's X5670 specs.) I read everything I could find but so many things can go wrong. I finally got my nerve up to buy a matched pair of used X5670 2.93GHz CPUs. ( Mac Pro (4,1) updated to (unofficial) MacPro5,1 EFI for 6-core CPU support) ( First report, ) " 2009 Mac Pro 12-core CPU Upgrade - Dual x5670 CPUs (Updated Aug 21st, 2015 - archived guide link pulled) Using Dual Xeon X5670 or X5690 Westmere CPUs Report/Tips: 2009 Mac Pro 12-core CPU Upgrades Recent Updates | Mac Upgrades/Repairs | Storage | Video | Audio/HT | Apps/OS/Network | Home 2009 Mac Pro 12-Core CPU Upgrades using Dual X5670/X5690 6-Core CPUs and Mac Pro 5,1 bootrom















Mac pro 4 1 cpu upgrade